Q176 G204/Q147 Clarity

Robot
Posts: 899
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 7:33 pm
Real Name: RSS Retriever Bot

Q176 G204/Q147 Clarity

Post by Robot »

Q176: If red robot initiated legal bumper to bumper contact with blue robot, and then blue robot, while getting pushed backwards, deploys an intake outside its frame perimeter which contacts red robot within its frame perimeter, has blue robot violated G204? Its seems like blue bot initiated the contact by deploying its intake, but it is getting pushed backwards so according to the G204 blue box its no foul.
A:
We cannot comment absolutely on hypothetical scenarios. The ultimate decision would be determined by the REFEREES at your event, with the final call made by the Head REFEREE. If a ROBOT is moving away from another ROBOT, but an extension is deployed that reaches into that other ROBOT'S FRAME PERIMETER, that extension has moved toward the other ROBOT and has initiated the contact.
(Asked by 8513
at Apr 7th 22)

Source: https://frc-qa.firstinspires.org/qa/176