Q175 G404 and unintentionally violating G201

Robot
Posts: 899
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 7:33 pm
Real Name: RSS Retriever Bot

Q175 G404 and unintentionally violating G201

Post by Robot »

Q175: Alliance colors are used for clarity only. If there are 3 blue cargo towards the rear of the red hangar, and a blue robot pushes a 4th blue cargo into the hangar of the red alliance while a red alliance robot is climbing, would this be considered a G404 violation and a penalty assessed against the red alliance? Though this is an illustrative situation, we are attempting to seek clarity on how G404 is assesse by the referees when cargo is pushed into the hangar by an opposing alliance per G201.
A:
We cannot comment absolutely on hypothetical scenarios. The ultimate decision would be determined by the REFEREES at your event, with the final call made by the Head REFEREE. !G404 makes no exception for nor any consideration of how CARGO was positioned such that it was inaccessible. If a REFEREE infers that an ALLIANCE is causing their CARGO to be inaccessible as a matter of strategy to force penalties on their opponents, !G201 is likely to be invoked.
(Asked by 900
at Apr 7th 22)

Source: https://frc-qa.firstinspires.org/qa/175